Accountable Talk Math Prompts for Guided and Whole Group Lessons: Adaptive Reasoning Part II

Posted on September 30, 2010. Filed under: Assessment, Classroom environment, Elementary math, Guided math, Math Conferences, Math is a Language, Mathematical Proficiency | Tags: , , , |


Here are some questions to get you jump started.  Remember only introduce a few questions at a time.  Picture icons are great and give non-readers more access to the poster.

The Language of Engagement

Accountable Talk

  • I agree because . . .
  • I disagree because . . .
  • I don’t know….
  • I don’t understand yet….
  • I’m not sure….
  • I’m still fuzzy …..
  • I also noticed . . .
  • Help me understand . . .
  • Say more about what you mean . . .
  • Can you show me/us how you did that?
  • Why do you think that?
  • Can you prove it?
  • Can anyone add to that idea?
  • Why is that true?
  • How do you know that?
  • I wonder . . .
  • I got a different answer…
  • I did it this way….
  • I have a question about
  • This was the tricky part
  • Can you tell me more?
  • Would you say that again?
  • Can you give me an example?
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Accountable Talk Math Prompts for Guided and Whole Group Lessons: Adaptive Reasoning Part II”

RSS Feed for Dr. Nicki's Guided Math Blog Comments RSS Feed

Simple, teacher-friendly, and practical!!!
Thanks!!

I need some ideas for kindergarten guided math. Do you have any math center ideas for this grade as well??

Hi Adriana,
For some instant, rigorous, child centered centers see jmeacham.com specifically http://www.jmeacham.com/math/math.tubs.htm. I like all of them but especially the patterns and geometry ones. Also see Math Their Way newsletters. I would start with Chapters 5, 6 and 9 http://www.center.edu/NEWSLETTER/newsletter.shtml. Kelly’s Kindergarten also has some great stuff http://www.kellyskindergarten.com/math/math_activities.htm. And finally, I love sparklebox.com…see http://www.sparklebox.co.uk/md/index.html.

In terms of guided math lessons, I would use some of these activities with the small group. See the guided math framework (do a search for framework within the site). I would use that framework and do some of these activities in small groups.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,824 other followers

