Let’s Talk About Math: Accountable Talk in Guided Math Groups

Posted on January 21, 2010. Filed under: Math is a Language | Tags: , , , |


It is really important that students have ways to talk about math.  We need to teach them how to have accountable conversations in math.  We have to teach them how to justify their mathematical thinking, question each other and question themselves.  We should definitely make accountable talk charts for math so that students have ways of talking with each other.  A sample chart might look like:

Accountable Talk in Math Class
When Explaining I can say When asking questions I can say When needing help
I got my answer by….This is the strategy that I used….First I, then I….finally I….

I think I am right because

I got a different answer.  This is what I did….

How did you get that answer?How do you know it’s true? I don’t quite understandI’m not sure aboutCan someone explain that again to me please?

Who gets it, cause I’m still confused?

Who can help me?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

