How can I charts…

Posted on November 25, 2013. Filed under: Classroom environment, Common Core | Tags: , , , |


I saw this “How can I chart” on Pinterest. I like the structure. I think it would be great to make a series of math anchor charts about “How can I…”  such as “How can I add two digit numbers?” “How can I multiply a fraction by a whole number?”  “How can I add single digit numbers quickly?”

Then, the chart lists several different ways to do it…going through the cycle of engagement: concrete ways, pictorial ways and abstract ways.

Then, you should definitely take pictures of these charts and have the students put the copies in their thinking notebooks or store the charts somewhere where they are accessible…or put them in a photo album that is labeled so students can use it as a reference when needed….or have the students copy the charts into their thinking notebooks…

The big point here is that charts should be a tool that is used throughout the year, not just for a moment!

Happy Mathing,

Dr. Nicki

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

